How To Look Good Swimming…Naked!

Since writing my last blog and being ‘hung by my tongue‘ my motivation to learn to swim has quadrupled!

So where am I then? Well having sorted out some gear to swim in, namely a 5 year old swimming cozzie (one careful lady owner, VGC, barely used!), some Aquasphere goggles purchased fromThe Swim Shed (essential kit) and a hand-me down bright orange swimming cap (a freebie from one of Keith’s triathlon events) my winter-white bod braced the tepid waters of The Swim Shed pool for my Swim Check Plus.

This was the swimming naked part!

With four camera angles recording my every twitch above and below the water, this first session stripped me bare! Seeing myself thrashing around in the pool like a salmon in a fishing net was nothing short of alarming! Keith had my attention!

He explained that I needed to master balance in the water before I could move onto full stroke swimming. No probs, I thought, get this little technique licked in a flash and full stroke swimming here I come! Wrong. This balance drill has been the sole focus of all my sessions so far with Keith, plus the practise I do on my own! I am sure Keith, with a wry grin on his face, has been reading my thoughts crying out ‘but when am I going to start using my arms?!!!’

Picture my embarrassment each week arriving pool side at Whittlebury Hall, cap on, goggled-up looking for all intents and purposes like I am about to swim a freestyle P.B. in front of the inquisitive spa guests, prostrate on their sun loungers. I could feel their sympathetic gaze as I just lay there, face down, kicking 1-2-1-2-1-2…going nowhere, sometimes extending an arm or coming up for air, then taking a rest! All the gear, no idea they were probably thinking!

Every once in a while there is a glimmer of hope at the end of my swimming tunnel – I get my technique correct and motor forward! Woo hoo I can do this! Small victories, small victories! Keith constantly reassures me not to worry if it doesn’t feel like it is ever coming together – it will!

So for now, until I report back, I am off to ‘build a relationship with the water’ (fave Keith saying!).

Bye for now!

Jane x

About The Swim Shed

I am a Total Immersion accredited coach/teacher and qualified to teach Freestyle, Backstroke, Breaststroke and Butterfly. I'm an ASA level 1 and level 1 Triathlete Coach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How To Look Good Swimming…Naked!

  1. Fran says:

    Well done Jane! I didn’t use arms for weeks and whenever one enquired after my swimming lessons I would say they it was going well but still no arms and they though I had really lost the plot! Now arms and legs and core are working well but I am still trying to find rhythm and I have the funniest picture in my head even as I type the word ‘rhythm’ of Keith wiggling his hips and singing!!!

  2. Bryan says:

    Another great blog , i think i have captured the market at looking silly down at whittlebury hall i have sank ,gone backwards ,swam in circles and genrally just bobbed up and down . cant wait for next installment .

  3. Trevor says:

    Oh, how familiar is that. I spent a whole session in Keith’s little pool at the start trying to go forwards. If you had told me to move backwards by kicking my legs (even if my very existence depended on it) I simply wouldn’t have been able to do it!!
    10 minutes with Keith and back I went – shame that’s the wrong direction.
    I can absolutely vouch for your better (?) half’s patience though as he now has me going forwards and at times……………… even looking quite proficient at it. If only I could crack this rhythm thing and stop him singing !! :-)

    Keep going, I still get the stares at The Swan Centre in Buckingham where I practise. You feel a right Charlie but it’ll be worth it in the end.
    Good luck with the tri. I did a similar thing to you, entered the London Tri to force me to learn to swim. When I entered I couldn’t swim a stroke but I got through it (although I was last out of the water !). That was before meeting Keith – now planning a strong mid-table finish at least for an iron distance tri in Sept.

    Nice blog – look forward to hearing more about your exploits !

  4. Darren says:

    Hi Jane,

    love the blog although I must say, I think Keiths favourite saying has got to be “880 times denser than air” I counted 6 last session!

    TI Apprentice in Training

    Darren

Leave a Reply

